top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Soft & Gooey Banana Bread (VEGAN)

BAKING - GLUTEN FREE - DAIRY FREE - EGG FREE - VEGAN

I have been struggling to find a good Egg free and Gluten free banana bread recipe. I tried a version that was completely oat flour, and it turned out more like baked oats than bread. I can finally say I found the one!! I baked this yesterday (and I doubled the recipe). My family have already demolished more than half. Safe to say it's a crowd pleaser.

In my household we follow the Medical Medium protocol - so we haven't touched eggs in over a year, very rarely have any dairy. And try to avoid Gluten where possible (but that doesn't always happen - aka bread is bread). Finding a good recipe that gives that texture without Eggs, I've found was the hardest part. This banana bread is delicious!!


I had oats but not oat flour in the cupboard soo I made the oat flour in a food processor, I find they don't get super fine but slightly course enough, that it adds a nice texture. For Flax-meal - I found a cocoa and berry blend flax-meal at the supermarket which is why its a darker colour - I find the flaxseed gives that nice gooey texture to it. If you happen to find a nice flaxseed blend, why not.


If you don't have coconut sugar in the cupboard any sweetener or sugar of choice will work just fine. I doubled the recipe because I knew the hungry vultures I had waiting would be begging for it. Soo one has plain chocolate chip and the other chocolate chip-walnut. Could also go well with pecans, dates or any other nut or compilation you have handy.

Being stuck inside, we have actually been making oat milk from scratch (1/4 cup of oats with 1L water in a blender then strain). Purely because we have the extra time to do soo.


Cooking until golden brown, I found 35mins or just under worked perfectly, as it can continues to cook slightly as it cools.


FINITO!!

I found it best served warm. Should keep for 3-4 days....if it makes it that long.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups oat flour (make your own by blending rolled oats in the blender or food processor to a powder)

  • 1 cup almond meal (make your own by blending almonds in the blender or food processor to a powder)

  • 1/4 cup Flax Meal, optional (If you have flax seeds can mix in the blender or food processor to a powder)*

  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt

  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon

  • 3 ripe Bananas, mashed

  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

  • 1/3 cup Coconut sugar (or sweetener of choice)**

  • 3/4 cup Oat milk (or milk of choice)

  • 1/2 cup Chocolate chips, plus more for topping (or chocolate of choice)***

  • 1/2 cup Chopped Walnuts (optional)


METHOD

  1. Preheat oven to 180ºC (350ºFahrenheit) and grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan

  2. In a large bowl mix the oat flour, almond meal, flax meal**, salt, baking powder & cinnamon until combined. Set aside.

  3. In a small bowl mash the bananas with a fork. If you like some banana chunks left in your banana bread, mash them less.

  4. Add the vanilla, coconut sugar, and oat milk. Mix until combined.

  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Don’t over-mix!

  6. Add in the chocolate chips and walnuts if using. Mix again to combine.

  7. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

  8. Allow the banana bread to cool completely before cutting.

  9. Bon appetit!!

I would love to see your baking creations!! Use the #bakewithriley

_______________________________________________________________________________

* I used ground flax-meal with Cocoa and berries which I found in the superfood/whole-food section of the supermarket. Any flaxseed blend or regular will work fine.

** If you don't have or can't find coconut sugar. Any sweetener or sugar of choice will work perfectly.

*** I used 70% cocoa block of chocolate that I chopped up and loved the darker note it provided. You can use any chocolate chip or block of choice, or omit it completely if you prefer.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page