top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

My Skin Care Routine

When your younger if an adult tells you something it really seems resonate with you. I remember when I was about 14 my Mum saying that a friend of hers now over 40 moisturised everyday since she was 16 and accredits that for the current wellbeing of her skin. Mind you this was the same woman who said sleeping in a bra stops your boobs from sagging so all creditability may be negligible.


Having this thought put in my mind when I was younger, it encouraged me to start a skincare routine that worked for me. My skin is on the drier side but I still suffer from the rare pimple from month to month. I have tried multiple skincare products and these are the current ones I’m using that I believe really help to make a difference.


Face washPhilosophy Purity Simple Facial Cleanser 

This is the cleanser that I use to remove all my makeup. Whether I’ve done a full face or a strong smokey eye this cleanser gets rid of everything. It leaves your skin feeling so soft. I love a cleanser that foams when you mix it with water and this works a treat. Paired with my PuraSonic for an even deeper clean its perfect to rejuvenate your skin.


Facial Cleansing Device - PuraSonic

There are thousands of facial brushes out on the market with the Clarisonic being one of the most popular brands, however I couldn’t justify spending that much. So I opted for the PuraSonic, which in my opinion works just as well if not better. When I first got it I used it every night with my cleanser but I found as my skin is on the drier side it just dried out my skin more. So I now use it 3-4 times a week, especially if I have a full face of makeup on. It’s amazing how you think that all your makeup is removed, then one swoop with this and you see all the makeup that gets left in your pores. It's fantastic for a deeper clean and getting rid of impurities.


TonerModelCo Replenishing Rose Mist Facial Mist

I’m yet to find my forever toner, the one that I believe really improves my skin. So many people skip this simple step but it really is important. After cleansing you’ve stripped your skin of all your natural oils, a toner helps to rebalance the pH and maintain the balance of your skin. A small thing that a lot of people don’t realise is that if you suffer from acne, cleansing your face without a toner or moisuriser is only going to make your acne worse as it strips your skin and then your body works to correct this by excreting extra oils to put back everything you have taken away. In turn increasing the oils and blocking your pores. The toner I’m currently using is ModelCo, it’s a spray bottle which I have now sworn by, every toner I buy from this day out will be a spray. It makes application soo much easier.


SerumEstee Lauder Advanced Night Repair

I’ve always wondered what the difference between a serum and a moisturiser was and whether this step was important. Serum is meant to work on the deeper layers of your skin, whereas Moisturiser locks in the moistures from the top layer. The Serum I use, certainly puts a hole in my wallet and if your just starting out with serums I suggest you buy a cheaper alternative and decide whether it works for you. However this serum I swear by! I don’t use it every single day, more like 4-5 times a week before I apply a moisturiser but since I suffer from dry skin I find this step really helps.


Eye CreamClinique All About Eyes

Eye Cream is something I have tried thousands of and yet to stick to one I really really love. However this Clinique one I find really makes a difference. Call me a night owl or just insane but I’m always going to bed later than I should. This eye cream I found has really made a difference to the darkness under my eyes. This eye cream is my new go to!


MoisturiserOrigins Mega Mushroom Skin Relief Soothing Face Lotion

I’m constantly going through different moisturisers to find one that works best for me. But this is the one, once I finish the what I’m currently trying, I’m going back to Origins and never looking back. Its lightweight yet really makes a difference. I know a lot of people that aren’t a fan of Origins but its one of my favourite skin care brands and always a staple for me!


Face Mask - Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask 

I cannot sing more praises for this mask. It’s a hydrating treatment that I use once a week in place of a moisturiser. If there is one thing you should try it’s this bad boy. My skin wakes up softer than baby’s bottom; it honestly makes all the difference. Your skin will thank you for using this mask.


Cream CleanserNeutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser

This is now a staple in my routine; I use this mask 2-3 times a week when I’m in the shower. It really pulls out all the impurities leaving your skin feeling so renewed and fresh. I wouldn’t recommend it if you have sensitive skin or at least test it first, it contains salicylic acid which in this case if you leave it on too long, can cause a slight sting/tingling sensation; which personally I love. I didn’t use this mask for a few months the difference in my skin was extremely noticeable, it really improves your complection and is extremely cost-effective for the quality that it is.


Looking over this I didn’t realise how many skin care products I really have, but these are the ones that really work for me. Everyone’s skin is different and what works for me, May not for you. If nothing else I strongly encourage everyone to at least cleanse regularly and moisturise, your skin will thank you, not just now but for years to come!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page