top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Product Empties and Reviews

Updated: Jul 7, 2019



Im afraid to admit I'm a bit of a makeup junkie!! Ive been collecting my empty product bottles for a few months now and there has grown to more than I would like to admit. Having finished these products I can honestly say give opinion on them and how they worked for me. I try a lot of high end and drugstore cosmetics so to those of you who don't want to spend the big bucks, I apologise that a lot of the products I use are high end.


MAKEUP

Urban Decay - All Nigher Long Lasting Makeup Setting Spray 

Setting sprays are becoming more and more popular these days with drugstore brands bringing out more options as well. However no drugstore product will ever come close to this, a few sprays of this and its guaranteed your makeup will last. I'll spray it on top of my makeup before work and 8 hours later it looks like nothing has changed!


Laura Mercier - Secret Brightening Powder

This stuff is a god send! I use it for baking and setting my under eyes, it brightens up the area and those dark circles are gone. I've repurchased this stuff nearly 3 times now and I will continue to because nothing else even comes close.


MACPro Longwear Concealer 

This is my go to concealer, being fair I use NC15 but they have a massive range of shades. One of my pet hates when it comes to concealers is when you get home after a long day and those dark circles are starting to show through, why am I wearing concealer if those bad boys aren't covered up. This stuff does the trick, its no dark circles with this stuff! Apply too much though it will look cakey, but with the right amount and set with Laura Mercier its a match made in heaven.


Becca - Under Eye Brightening Corrector

If there was one thing I could change about myself it would  be the dark under eye circles. Its one thing I've tried covering up for years, if tried all the weird colours the reds, purples all those ones that are meant to cancel out the bad stuff. This brightener though does the trick...put it on under your concealer and ain't nothing showing through. On those days where your just running errands and don't wanna do a full face. This alone will hide those pesky circles without a worry!


Urban Decay - Perversion Mascara

I bought this mascara in one of those travel size bottles just to try it. I didn't realise how much I would actually like it. Although I don't normally use it alone. It's great for lengthening but I love a bit of volume. Ill normally top it off with Loreal Telescopic (p.s. thats a mascara to the gods, if u haven't tried it you must).


Too Faced - Size Queen Mascara

I initially went into Mecca wanting to try Better than Sex by Too Faced but since its crazy popular of course they were out, thats when I stumbled upon this. The brush is massive and I don't say that lightly the things huge! The first time I tried it I hated it. However once you get use to the big brush the volume from this is insane, your lashes look fantastic!


SKINCARE

Estee Lauder - Resilience Lift Firming Eye Cream

Having paid the insane amount for this eye cream, I was expecting great things! Its hydrating and moisturising but it honestly did nothing for me. There are other eye creams out there less than half the price that work far better in my opinion


Estee Lauder - Advanced Night Repair Eye

We may as well continue with the Estee Lauder while were at it. As the Night Repair Serum is a staple for me, I bought the eye cream thinking of course it will be great. It's a nice eye cream but thats about it. I didn't love it, the fact it comes with a little spatula to get it out of the bottle is great but thats probably the thing I loved most about this.


Estee Lauder - Advanced Night Repair, Sychronized Recovery Complex II

High end, High end, High end. This is a product that was definitely a splurge on my part. I wasn't sure at first how to in cooperate it into my routine, but its a serum I used before moisturizing. Which seemed a shame to spend so much on a product for it not to be the final one you leave before you go to bed. Worth the money? I'm not sure it was worth the expensive price tag. Its a nice serum but I cant say i noticed any dramatic change using this product.


Origins - Mega Mushroom Skin Relief Soothing Face Lotion

I used this up over a year ago and have been trying other moisturisers since. All I can say is nothing compares, I'm repurchasing this again and again. Its lightweight, moisturising and really improved the overall appearance of my skin. The packaging of this is also great, the pump bottle makes it super easy to dispense. The thing that tops it off for me is the smell, this stuff smells great!


Origins - High Potency Night A Mins

I had heard great things about this moisturiser and as someone who is on the drier side skin wise, I thought this would do wonders. However I really having nothing great to say about this moisturiser, you could probably find one at the local supermarket that would be comparable to this. Its an average moisturiser that isn't overly hydrating nor did i notice any noticeable difference. With a love for origins unfortunately its a no for me with this one, can not go passed my mega mushrooms though!


Kiehls - Midnight Recovery Eye

As you can tell by now I seriously go through my eye creams. I bought this honestly because of KathleenLights (youtuber) she raves about this stuff!! But I honestly didn't love it. Its a nice eye cream but not my go to. I will say the bottle lasted ages, took 3 months for me to go through it and it was the same cream I used every night.


Philosophy - Renewed Hope in a Jar Moisturiser

This is a great moisturiser. Its a little thicker for those of you that enjoy a hearty night cream. Philosophy is a great brand and their products are really great. I probably won't repurchase this moisturiser as I feel there are better moisturisers out there, but if your after something moisturising than certainly give this a go.


Estee Lauder - Resilience Lift Firming/Sculpting Face and Neck Cream

Another pricey one for the history books. I got this as part of a package when I bought the eye cream. If your starting out your skincare routine stay away from Estee. Its better to establish the sorts of creams and lotions you like before opting for the more expensive stuff. As a younger person its not necessary to use this sort of cream but I wanted to give it a try, its a great all rounder moisturising cream, not a staple but worth a mention


Darphin - Cleansing Foam Gel

This funly enough was the first cleanser ever used when I wanted to start a skincare regime. Into the local mecca speaking to the staff asking whats your skin like oily, dry when I really had no idea what she was even talking about. Its extremely foamy and fresh soo its nice cleanse plus its great if your using a cleansing brush it foams really well. However after paying what I did for this cleanser I realise what little point there is in paying top dollar for products that cleanse your face. For my the skincare after you wash and clean your face is more worthwhile spending money on. But you gotta start somewhere right, thats how i ventured into the skincare world


Thursday Plantation - Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Toner

This is a very natural brand. I bought this at a time my skin was breaking out and I thought the tea tree would help with clearing it up. I was using multiple products at the time so I cant say that this was the exact thing that cleared up my skin. But its certainly good, If your not a fan of the smell of tea tree oil though this stuff is potent. I enjoy the smell but for all you feigns out there be warned.


Clean and Clear  - Advantage Mark Treatment

All I can say is go and get this stuff!! Its for when you get that one nasty pimple that you want to get rid of asap. I'll liberally apply this stuff every few hours for a day and the spot will literally disappear. There is a slight sting but that good kind, when you know its working. ( Not that I recommend picking, but I know we have all fallen victim to doing so, apply this straight after, its not only disinfecting but honestly pulls all the bad stuff out).


Clinique - All about eyes rich reduces circles, puffs (Eye Cream)

This is an eye cream I recently tried and I have to say so far its my ride or die! As someone who suffers from those damn dark circles, I certainly noticed a difference with this one. I will buy this again and again...best eye cream I've ever tried...reduces dark circles and hydrates love it!


Clinique - Moisture Surge

Plain and simple is how I'd describe this moisturizer. Its a runnier consistency, than most. I didn't particularly love this product, though it was good for what it is although I have dryer skin soo I prefer something a little bit more hydrating.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page