top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J Maas

BOOK REVIEW

I was a major Nesta despiser prior to starting this one, to the level that I was soo nervous about reading it at all. TO EVERYONE WHO HATES NESTA --- READ THE BOOK!! I couldn’t love her more, she takes the spot above Feyre for me…and I don’t say that lightly. Feyre is the chosen one, heroic and otherworldly in nature (whom I love) but as far as real, authentic and relatable Nesta is all that and more.


The storyline in ACOSF is interesting. It’s relatively slow moving, until the last 200 pages where everything happens at once, and then the happy ever after part at the end isn’t quite long enough. I read the whole book in 3 days, because I couldn’t put it down from start to finish, even the slower parts I found a joy and a pleasure to read. Nesta as a character is so multifaceted that I couldn’t get enough!!


The brooding and angst is real!! I love a heartbreaking, tear jerking read and Nesta’s nature ensures this in full form. It’s not light and fluffy in the slightest but a true exploration of Nesta’s character as she pulls herself out of darkness.


Cassian….I love him! The charming, witty, cheeky bastard that he is….it’s just a shame we don’t see that side of him in ACOSF. He was a puppy with his dick between his legs the entire book. It’s strange but we never see any of the romance between Cassian and Nesta, they go from fuck buddies to mates without any of the in between. Yes, there is a heap of personal growth and development on both sides throughout this time. But the warmth and banter between the two doesn’t exist, the romance element for an adult romance/fantasy was lacking. Which I found a huge let down and again not the version of Cassian I was expecting! (especially for a book centered around him).


The to the true hero element of the story……The friendships that Nesta finds along the way!! Nesta finds friendship in the least likely of places (house emoji) but the trio between Emerie and Gwyn was magical. Watching them all evolve and come together was heart warming and joyous, it’s the new inner circle in this book! (because the one we were use to…didn’t show up to the party). My little prediction is each book in this new series will centre around one of this new trio’s venture to finding love and who from the original series, they belong with.


My heart was thumping out of my chest, throughout the entire book! I loved it! ACOSF is smut and steam galore which is my jam! I know quite a few people who are choosing not to continue with the series now that it’s taking a new adult turn, but it’s a segway I am soo ready for and cannot wait for more!


The last 200 pages are jam packed with emotion and epic adventure! I felt the adrenal rush from the sidelines. I whole heartedly adored ACOSF and loved Nesta’s point of view.

Its a 4 - 4.5 ⭐️ Review for me!!


------------------------------SPOILER CITY AHEAD--------------------------

----major plot points mentioned below------



ACOSF was like going back to see all my favourite people….but no one was the same. Rhys was callous, overbearing and cruel on a whole other level. Amren was horrible….I mean granted she’s never a warm teddy bear, but she was horrid, absolutely horrible to Nesta. And all of a sudden at the end Nesta is bowing before her, I was like what WWHHYY…nothing was ever explained about what happened. But I think it’s safe to say both ladies had a part to play in there falling out and yet Nesta is the one that basically pledges allegiance before Amren. I despised soo much about that scene.

Sadly Mor wasn’t really present…mind you she never has been overly at the forefront but she was legit in like two scenes.


There was none of the banter, inner circle and friendship that I was hoping for. Granted I understand Nesta was never a part of that dynamic and this book is largely centered around her. But it’s in third person, soo the ability to see the warmth and interaction of the Rhys/Cassian/Az was there…yet we see none of it.


The one thing that grates my gears a little…..is that fact no one ever acknowledges the mating bond between Cassian and Nesta. It’s completely overlooked and Nesta despite saving them, is never warmly welcomed into their circle. Don’t get me wrong…..Rhys change of heart at the end was much appreciated but it just felt lacking.


I loved Nesta and Cassian in there round about way of finding each other. It wasn’t a warm and fuzzy love story, but I adored it nonetheless. The one thing that annoyed me a little, now please correct me if I missed it…..but Cassian never said I love you back…


BONUS CHAPTERS

Azriel……UMM sorry WHAT!!! Did you just read the same thing I did, the moment between Elaine and him thinking he has some sort of right or claim to her. I did not like that part at all. Then it comes to Gwyn…..First off I adore Gwyn. The passing glances between the two I loved throughout the book and I truly truly hope it’s the foreshadowing of the mating bond, because I think the two of them would be perfect, the singing part I loved.

But….it felt like finding Gwyn on that roof, was like him settling for something when he couldn’t be with Elaine, which I truly despise. Then he regifts the necklace to Gwyn…..I can see that coming up in the next one, only to bite Az in the ass and truly hurt Gwyn’s feelings.

I truly hope it’s the beginning of something between Az and Gwyn but I didn’t love the little sneak peak we got in this chapter.


I saw this predication that claimed Gwyn was not half nymph but half lightsinger. And with our leading shadowsinger….it could truly be the beginning of something between the two of them.


Feyre & Rhys’s Chapter, it was nice to see more of there dynamic! I will never be able to get enough of one of my favourite couples. However, the additional chapter, didn’t add a whole lot to either of them or the story. I’ve read that in Sarah’s additional draft, first person Feyre chapter’s were scattered throughout ACOSF before it was cut from the book. This additional chapter is just one of the ones that was cut, a little uninspiring but sweet, nonetheless.

P.S If your unable to get access to the bonus chapters DM me on Instagram!!


I almost forgot Elaine.....how could I not touch on the Elaine 2.0 we meet in ACOSF!! I like that there is more behind the sweet facade...but I'm not sure I like what we get. I didn't like her character at all! If she ends up with Azriel, I'm going to be soo bummed! The three sisters with the boys I'm not a fan of, but I want Azriel to have this epic love and Elaine I feel dosent fit the build. I think Elaine is a ticking time bomb for the monster that is going to erupt. Despite Lucien being a sweet heart I feel like him and Elaine are soo far out of the realm of possibility. My guess....Elaine will end up with Eris. The Hades/Persephone dynamic is already in full swing, Elaine is the spring/flower godess and Eris the oldest son of evil at the moment. The idea of Eris marrying one of the sisters has already been dropped....but maybe we just got the wrong sister.....

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page