top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Bad Cruz By LJ Shen

BOOK REVIEW

Charming, Sweet, Enduring, Heart Warming and Gut wrenching in the best way possible.

From the minute I picked this one up, I knew it was something special. I found it a little lighter on the angst scale than the usual LJ Shen, but it’s the Rom Com I didn’t know I wanted!


Cruz Costello is the kind, caring, cheeky leading male that is almost too good to be true! It follows the story of Tennessee, having every hardship possible thrown her way while raising her Son, with circumstance meaning she has sworn off men completely. However, an element of misfortune turns into luck when the family cruise becomes an intimate affair. It’s a mixture of a Second Chance, Enemies to Lovers and Small-Town Romance that takes a ride on the open sea.


Tennessee and Cruz’s dynamic is an intriguing twist on the usual male/female stereotype, with Tennessee being the hard hitting, guarded and resilient heroine while our Dr. Costello is the sensitive, open, and perceptive male lead. With a dual perspective and full of emotive language, I felt as if I was right along there with them, experiencing all the feels while sailing the wave that their tumultuous journey ensures.


I loved the Single Mother storyline! The relationship and dynamic between mother/child - Tennessee and Bear is so powerful and strong throughout, I found myself desperately looking forward to every part that he is mentioned. It's that Rory/Lorelai dynamic that warms you right to the core.


Bad Cruz strays away from the alpha hole/bad boy and gives you the male that we all secretly want; Sexy, Warm, Dependable, and Full of Banter. It’s a fun, playful and jam-packed emotional rollercoaster that had me on the edge of my seat from page one.


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page