top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Forever Burn by Trinity Lemm

Updated: Jun 3, 2020

BOOK REVIEW


It was a pleasure to read and so I must thank Trinity for sending me a copy of her novel!!!

This is a strong break out novel, the blurb had be interested from the beginning.

Trinity’s take on PTSD and emotionally abusive relationship’s was so deep and profound. Tate’s arch of pain and personal development of PTSD was phenomenal and real in every way possible.


I loved the way love itself was depicted in all it's entirety, the good, the bad and the ugly.

It is never perfect in the real life and every facet of it shines through in this novel.

“Love isn’t something that you’re told, it has to be shown. It has to be experienced in order to fully understand it. Love was a deep concept a difficult one to fully grasp, and even though it was often complicated, it was usually worth it.”

The sense of friendship and family is beautiful and abundant. The strength of female friendship with Gia and Claire was lovely and refreshingly real. You don’t always tell your friends everything, you hide the stuff you know they disapprove of and your friends don’t always listen to you despite the advice you give them. Friendship is ever changing and that in itself is a strength, which is highlighted in Forever Burn.

This novel gave me similar vibes to After by Anna Todd, with the age and various storyline aspects. Axe giving me moments where I thought it was Hardin, with their similar character traits. Axe on the real hand, is a much saner character. Axe and Tate's relationship gives the appropriate amount of balance to the, give and take in a healthy relationship. Although there were times, where I questioned if going back to him was even a good idea!!


I will say I found the story a little too youthful for me at times and heavily centred around daily dorm/fraternity life at college. Almost too much that the sense of movement in the storyline was lacking. Which I’ll commend is a very similar representation to normal life as a college student, however reading it in a novel, was a repetitive and tedious.


The story itself is substantial and entertaining, it lost my interest in the middle a bit, but pulled through towards the end. Being a first novel the writing style was a juvenile at times but I have to commend you Trinity!!! Congratulations on completing your first novel and your efforts into this really showed, your character development and relationship arch was extremely profound. I’m positive as you continue to write, your writing style will only improve and you have something very special.


Rating - ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page