top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

BOOK REVIEW

This was the first book by Colleen that I had ever picked up and I was really excited! The blurb sounded great and I couldn’t wait to pick it up!! This one really surprised me…it was not what I was expecting at all!


I enjoyed it right from the beginning. It picks up right in the middle of rough point in both Rylee and Lily’s life. On a night of fate or destiny they find themselves on a rooftop trading secrets to what appears to be the beginning of a beautiful love story. But It Ends with Us was so much more…


I enjoyed it right from the beginning, it was intriguing, I was surprised that the flashback scenes were to her Highschool love while her current day life was about our new and exciting beau Rylee, who appeared almost too good to be true!


I was waiting in anticipation to meet Atlas with soo much build up it was inevitable for him to reappear!! This is where the story took an interesting turn. I was expecting a ill fated love dynamic between Lily and Rylee that would lead her straight into Atlas’s arms and the true sparks would fly.


I got closer and closer to the end of the book waiting for it to happen, realizing that less and lesser pages meant it was further and further from a possibility.


It Ends With Us is not your typical romance trope, which I’ll be honest is what I was expecting and I was a little disappointed it wasn’t what I got.


---(mild) SPOILERS ---


I really liked Rylee to begin with and then my suspicion crept in. With Atlas being the tall, dark and brooding ex, I was tossed between which one I was rooting for (happy with either to begin with tbh)…….Then the first time Rylee hit her, I was soo sure it was an accident and that everything would be fine. Rylee was still portrayed as the good guy so I was skeptical and sure that coming from an abusive household Lily couldn’t possibly be put in that situation again….alas


Having read the book alone, I was annoyed with the ending, her acceptance of the way Rylee treated her and the way it was handled at the end. The fact Rylee never appeared to seek treatment or help, despite raising a daughter of his own.


The fact her and Atlas didn’t get more of their dynamic!! I loved the flashbacks! This book would have been a 10/10 if it had played more on their dynamic and finding their way back to each other.


Finishing it was a 3 star review for me the book was enjoyable, but the characters lacked magnetism and empathy. I liked it, but didn’t love this book.


Then I read the acknowledgements and admiration for this book grew tenfold!! This story is not a happy ever after, sunshine and rainbows!! It’s a tale of depth, humility and optimism in the reality of the real world. Colleen’s personal experience was empowering and a true tale of hope in a reality that is not always soo.


My understanding of the characters and the depth of her understanding of character experience is profound. This is a REALISTIC love story, you don’t want to give up on someone you love, its hard to walk away when the highs are high but the lows are low, how do you draw the line. It Ends With Us, tethers on the line and pushes the boundaries of abusive relationships.


It is a story of hope in a world where getting out of a toxic, violent relationship is not always a reality. Colleen perfectly captures the thoughts and experiences that any human being in that scearnio would contemplate, which I cannot commend enough!!


I love the realistic and powerful message portrayed throughout this novel and THANK YOU Colleen for the bravery of sharing your story.


It’s a powerful message, however as a romance book..FOR ME, I found it lacking in certain areas and had hoped for more of a redemption story. I am a sucker for a whole rounded happy ending, which this is but I want the happily ever after which this didn't offer (albeit reality doesn't always offer). I enjoy being swept up in a world soo whole heartedy that real life is nothing but a dream soo for me I can’t say I loved this book.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page