top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Kingdom of Ash (TOG Series) by Sarah J Maas

BOOK REVIEW

I just finished Kingdom of Ash (KOA) and I’m a little lost for words right now if I am honest. I feel like a huge part of my life is over. I was soo entirely, wholeheartedly encompassed by this series, it crept up on me and I didn’t even realise it. I have been reading this series for soo long, it feels like I can just go and pick up another but there isn’t any more!!

I spent the entire last third of the booking crying!! I have never cried soo much over a book ever!! It was like an endless stream that didn’t stop. The sadness, joy and awe all wrapped in one, had me a blubbering mess. I’m currently staring at the pile of tissues on the floor. It would be one minute of sadness, followed by sheer happiness that had the tears flowing yet again. Watching all our favourite characters coming together and meet again after there adventures apart; felt as though you were standing beside them embracing with ferocious intensity.

There was not one single character in this eight book series, I did not find myself grappling for with excitement!! Sarah J Maas took my breath away with this series, I thought Cassandra Clare was the master of all things interworld and dimensional. Sarah gives her a run for her money with this one, she may even take the crown! Every single character you ever meet has an integral part!!

(lets completely disregard Vaughan there – Vaughn who – that’s right not only did we never meet him, I will always wonder what had him tied up while the world hung in the balance). I’m in awe of the world she created and the large volume of characters that all fit in with equal gravity of relevance, never doubting why there are over 10+ main characters apart of this journey.

Half way through KOA I was worried we were going to have a very very unhappy ending!! It certainly strays from the stereotype where everything happens to go right for our leading characters. The end felt well and truly nigh at one point. I unintentionally spoiled it for myself knowing who wasn’t going to make it to the end of the series and on top the spanner that was thrown in the works (I’m talking about the Gods/Erawan situation going astray). I finished that chapter with a loss for how they were going to pull through.

The only thing I wish I had more of is their happy ending, I will say I was extremely happy with the ending!! Being a huge book, the battle took up soo much time, understandably with the marking the end of this massive storyline. But having a 10+ main character line up, I can’t help but want a little bit more of each, it felt a little rushed towards the end. I would have loved a more of our main couples and all the finalities of their endings.

Fenrys is like the gallowglass (Discovery of Witches) of Throne of Glass. He is the lone wolf that never finds a mate but the beautiful soul that deserves the entire world. I can only wish one day, there is a novella about all our favourite side characters and our couples kids would only be a dream.

In comparison to ACOTAR this is a series about a battle with a side of romance. Whereas Romance is at the forefront of Sarah’s other series. Having started with ACOTAR myself, I was expecting more on that front and was a little disappointed to begin with! But I realise I had been looking at it wrong the entire time, both series are complete opposites in all the right ways. Throne of Glass is hands down the best adventure/fantasy series I have every read, the way the world is constructed and how the story develops is paramount to anything I have personally encountered before.

It took me 3-4 months to finish this series, reading various other novels in-between and stopping occasionally, but was entirely worth it!! I will reread it again once my heart has recovered a little bit. If you have any light-hearted recommendations to nurse by book hangover send them my way!!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page