top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Off Campus Series (The Deal) by Elle Kennedy

BOOK REVIEW

My undying love for this started with The Deal!! Garrett Graham woof ooo swoon!

I started off the book without fully reading the blurb, soo I didn't exactly know what I was getting myself into.


Hannah starts off with her love interest Justin whom I thought may have been the potential there. But I was sorely mistaken and thank goodness. I loved everything about Hannah and Garrett. Their relationship and the personal growth of them independently was incredible. A lot of romance stories are centered around our brooding and 'mean' leading men, all the boys in this series have absolute hearts of gold which was extremely refreshing. But don't let me lead you astray they are incredibly cheeky!!


The Deal is the story of Hannah who is acing her classes while Garrett's are in dire need of resurrection to maintain his spot on the hockey team. With a promise to have Jason swooning over her, Hannah agrees to tutor Garett in exchange for his help. As emotions fly it's safe to say things don't turn out how either of them planned. The beautiful thing about their story is the strength of both the personal and past demons that entwine and create one of the healthiest relationships I have seen depicted in romance fiction. With all your usual romance needs and wants well and truly tied in and the bar well and truly raised!!


There is nothing I can fault about the first book in this series!! I adore them and everything about it, I have already re-read it twice and it is definitely not going to stop there.I couldn't recommend The Deal more!! With my undying love for this series cemented with the first book I couldn't wait to get stuck into the rest of the series. 


The second book in the Off Campus Series - The Mistake follows Grace and Logan (the 2nd of Garrett's Team and Room mate). Logan highly crushing on Garrett's girlfriend the story begins as he meets Grace but does he realise before it's too late that Grace is the one he truly wants or is it Hannah? Their story was refreshing and gorgeous, I didn't wow me as much as the first did, but I enjoyed it nearly as much as the first. 


Then that brings me to The Score I had high hopes for this one, with Dean - GQ model and playboy status I was excited to see what was lying underneath all that bravado. I wasn't expecting him to end up with Allie (Hannah's best friend) but I liked that element of it by the end. It was a fun and cheeky story as Dean finds love for the first time, experiencing love, loss and pain for the first time in all its fascists. I'm afraid to say I didn't enjoy it as much as the first one, and ever so slightly less than the second. It was enthralling and entertaining but something felt lacking. I think The Deal had soo many more layers to the story then just the main relationship that it made it impossible to put down!! Which I couldn't say was 100% the same for this one.


Then lucky last The Goal we have Tucker coming in hot with the wake up call of a lifetime. His story follows Sabrina, a workaholic and misunderstood young woman trying to make something of herself. The chemistry between the two of them was impalpable. But the follow on felt slow and unrhythmic - there were times I doubted she felt anything for him at all, which was undeniably annoying. When a night of passion turns into a pregnancy their worlds are flipped upside; in the midst of trying to figure out what they feel for each other.


I killed me watching Sabrina deny her feelings for Tucker! They spent more than 80% of the novel groveling for each other without any idea of how the other felt. The unplanned pregnancy and hardship element of their story was well done and realistic (mostly). But I just felt their relationship arch could have been more powerful, it was lacking and self deprecating. It's a romance novel.....I want the romance part!! I finished the series a little bit feeling like ohh that's it....I wanted more of a punch to wrap up the entire series. This was my least favourite novel of the four.


At least there is the spin-off series (Briar U)! I look forward to reading it. I'm holding out that it's Garrett/Hannah level for the rest of the Briar U series!! Because The Deal joins LJ Shen's - Vicious and The Kiss Thief as one of my all time favorites. We shall have to wait and see..... 

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page