top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas

BOOK REVIEW

I jumped straight into this one after reading the Devils Night Series!! Keen to wrap up this world if I’m being honest but I was soo freshly and pleasantly surprised by Punk 57.


It was a beautiful and only ever so slightly tortured story (in comparison to Devil’s Night – we’re talking child’s play). It is probably my second favourite Douglas Novel so far!! Kill Switch will forever have my heart.


Punk 57 follows two high schoolers, who have been pen pals for over 7 years but never seen or met. However that soon changes when one night of fate intervenes. Watch the dynamic between them evolve through betrayal, love and the beauty of music as they find the way back to each other and the secrets that tear then apart.


I loved the concept of this one, two pen pals turned best friends who have never seen or met coming together!! Nothing unfolds how you would expect!! Watching Misha (or should I say Masen) come into Ryen’s world and tear it to shreds was enjoyable, as you saw all the positive and good (albeit tormenting) intentions behind it.


The chemistry and tension between these two was perfect. I have felt in the past that Penelope Douglas doesn’t always create the longing between love interests, but this one definitely delivers. Despite the torturous nature, the underlying connection is there, which I find essential when reading a good romance novel.


The point of view switches between Misha and Ryen were really enjoyable!! Knowing the secrets that Misha kept while Ryen remained in the dark, was agonizing!! But also, very refreshing, it was a fun element that kept the story intriguing and perplex.


Punk 57 truly demonstrates the nasty and cruel aspects of High School in this modern day and age!! I’m lucky to say, I think I missed the age where every trial and tribulation is broadcast on social media for everyone to see. Penelope adds an intriguing anonymous element with graffiti throughout the school, which I really enjoyed.


With Misha as a musician the song lyrics throughout the novel, were soo relevant and I enjoyed the added element it brought to the book!! Reading the full song back at the end, you can see all the hidden messages and deeper meaning to the words, which were truly beautiful.


I thoroughly enjoyed this one, it was fun, intriguing and feisty, it’s a modern day twist on a romance trope and yet again a story that will keep you on your toes till the very last page!


I really enjoyed it and couldn’t put it down as I was reading but wasn’t head over heels for the story. Soo it would have to be a 4 star review for me!! It is one I would happily reread in a few months and will take pride of place on my bookshelf.


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

278 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page