top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

Sinners of Saint & All Saints High Series by LJ Shen

Updated: May 24, 2020

BOOK REVIEW

I have honestly been living under a rock....How I have left reading these books for soo long, I now have no idea!!


Although I will say living in Australia definitely has its down falls.....we are not prime in on the market here on the other side of the world.


It is safe to say, I have not done anything other than scour the pages of these books for the passed two weeks. I literally devoured every single book she has published, the time I spent not reading during that time, I spent thinking about said books.


I have the worlds biggest book hangover right now, its not funny. Sooo glad her new book Hunter is due out soon, without that I honestly don't know where I would be. We'll address the huge gapping hole in my heart again after I've then finished Hunter.


I first fell in love with Vicious; that man has a heart of pure gold I swear and he took a huge chunk out of mine. There is something about a man who is an arsehole to the entire world but not to you. Adore him and Emilia. I thought it couldn't get any better after I finished the first Sinners of Saint - OMG I was soo sorrily mistaken its not even funny.


Ruckus ups the ante and triples it. My heart was struggling to hold on by the end of it, she tricked me good, she really did. Real ugly crying by the end of it and the flip at the end. I DID NOT see that coming and I wouldn't have it any other way. My God if there was only one of Sinner's you were going to read this bad boy is the one.


The thing that really got me was Bane, I was reluctant to even read it because it didn't centre one of my fav Hotholes. Gracious Me, I could not have been more wrong - It was perfect in every possible way. It hurts me now to know, I was even thinking about skipping it.


That brings me to All Saints High - Now I know a lot of my fellow Sassy Sparrows love Broken Knight & Angry God.

Pretty Reckless takes the cake for me, was by absolute favourite out of the three. I think it was because I could relate to Daria the most, the quietly brooding but little hulk that she is. That brings me to Penn - gorgeous gorgeous Penn. I feel like my entire post has turned into a gush fest, but this is honestly my mind everyday, constantly in awe of the characters LJ makes impossible not to love.


I loved Knight and Vaughn but not as much as a loved Daria in Reckless. I think its because Knight and Luna just played ping pong with my heart the entire time, I was struggling to hold on my the end of it. The Ups and Downs had me back in the After (by Anna Todd) world which I am still very much recovering from.


Before starting All Saints High, I also wondered how our fav out Hotholes would shape up as parents - safe to say, I was yet again never to doubt the Queen that is LJ Shen. She absolutely Nailed it. Jaime is the dad we all love and need. In true retrospect making Mel the one we all hated was perfect, because in reality they couldn't all have been true Saints. Mel and Daria's relationship arc was soo powerful. Mel's parent chapter was soo strong, gut wrenching how it displayed the contrast in opinion between daughter & mother and the tumultuous relationship that ensured.


Trent hearing Luna talk for the first time, had me laughing crying with soo much excitement it wasn't funny. Finally of course Vicious - my beautiful beautiful Man. (The sound proof bedroom walls - what I would kill to be Emilia) Seeing the way he talks to Vaughn warms my heart, that feeling when you look at your pet (I'm imagining staring at my beautiful ginger kitten) and all they may be doing is licking their paws, but everything they doo makes you want to devour them whole with how much you love them, that's exactly how I feel the minute Vicious enters a room.


The family that I wish I was apart of would have to be the Cole's, despite the inevitable Rosie heartache. It's the most beautiful touching relationship they all share, as they value each other soo highly. Dean as dad was my favourite to see, it was such a change from his bachelor days, gives you hope that your future man is out there just getting mayhem out of his system.


Dirty Headlines - I loved Celian as I do Vicious except he actually shows is heart to the world....sometimes. I could goo on but I think the rest of LJ's books deserve a post to themselves there is just too much, that needs saying.



219 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page