top of page
  • Writer's pictureRiley Henderson

To All the Boys I've Loved Before - Jenny Han

BOOK REVIEW

This was a charming, joyful and fun read, it’s a little different to the style of fantasy and fiction I normally tend to gravitate towards. I did find the writing style a little juvenile at times, particularly when I picked it up to begin, but it tends to ease up throughout the series. Is there a point when teenage characters are not the main character in the books my mid-twenty self-continue to read?

To All the Boys was a light hearted and warming story, at it's core depicts the tribunals of young love. Jenny Han makes it impossible not love to Lara Jean and Peter. The way Jenny captured the feeling of young, unrequited love was breathtaking, the ways she described it had me sighing in agreement more often than not.

‘Do you know what it’s like to like someone soo much you can’t stand it and know that they’ll never feel the same way?’ – Jenny Han

‘You’d rather make up a fantasy version of somebody in your head than be with a real person’ – Jenny Han

I enjoyed P.S I still Love you nearly as much as I did the first. Stormy is the grandmother /Cool Aunt mixed in one, that we all wish we had. John Ambrose McClaren I loved soo much I was a little disappointed Lara didn’t pick him, I honestly wouldn’t have been mad if she had thrown a spanner and picked John instead of Peter.

Truth be told, it’s a lot harder to walk away from someone than it should be.

‘I didn’t know you could miss someone more acutely when they’re only a few feet away. Maybe it’s because he doesn’t even look at me, not even once. I didn’t fully comprehend what a big part of my life he’d become. He’d become so familiar to me and now he is just gone. Not gone, still here, just not available to me, which might be even worse. For a minute there it was really good… Maybe really good things aren’t meant to last for too long, maybe that’s what makes them all the sweeter, the temporariness of them’ – P.S I still love you captured my heart in ways it didn’t know it could.

Always and Forever is where I signed out a little bit with the series, I struggled to finish the last book and didn’t feel like their relationship was on par with the first two. Overall I enjoyed the series, but if you read the first two and stopped there. In my opinion you’d be more than satisfied.

Netflix don’t normally nail their original movies, but the movie rendition of this one, is everything and more you could possibly want. I think it was purely luck in casting in this instance, Noah Centineo and Lana Condor’s chemistry brought Kavinsky and Lara Jean together in perfect harmony. In the elements that deviated from the book it felt right, which is really all I ever ask for.

In this case it worked perfectly but are there any books you love that you don’t want ruined by being made into a movie?

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page